Follow

Import Users (bulk edit)


WARNING: The Import Users process completely overwrites any user data you already have in the system. Always ensure your file includes all employees and not just the new people, or just one department, for example. The file must contain everyone.

Overview

Culture Amp requires names, email addresses and demographic details of people to be surveyed. This data changes over time, and can be used for different surveys see Employee Data Flow.

Users can be added to Culture Amp one at a time, even when a survey is running, however at times it is faster and more accurate to add users in a single upload process. This is usually done for organizations that are starting to use Culture Amp for the first time and need to set up data. The Import Users process is also useful when the existing data is out of date. For example, when people have moved to new departments, new recruits are missing in the system, people  have since left, etc. The Import Users process involves three main steps:

  1. Download user information to a file
  2. Update that information, add or remove people
  3. Upload the updated file

The upload wizard in Culture Amp displays a summary of the data, requiring confirmation at each step of the upload process. This is done to allow corrections or changes to the data to be made, if required. This is necessary because the Import Users process cannot be reversed. Care must be taken to ensure the data is clean and accurate. A final page is used in the wizard to summarize the changes to be made before processing.

What's not included?

Some user information is not included in the Import Users process, such as:

  • Observer flag (used to exclude people from being survey participants, but give them access to reporting)
  • Ability to set a person up as an Account Administrator or a Survey Administrator (this must be done manually after the Bulk Edit process)

Users can be intended as active or inactive in Culture Amp, depending on whether an End Date is included in the data file being uploaded.

Timing of changes made

The new user data is only effective for future surveys. Any past survey responses cannot be affected by changes made during the Import Users process. This is also true for any manual changes made to a user's information. Culture Amp will always retain responses that were recorded at the time of the survey, using the demographics and user information that existed at that time.

The bulk edit process treats users in the file as the 'future state' of users in Culture Amp, so if the file omits some users who are active in Culture Amp, they will be made inactive in the Culture Amp database. i.e. the bulk edit treats a person missing from the user file as an intentional 'removal' of an active user. This means that partial user uploads are not recommended. The file must contain the entire user base, and not a subset of all people.


Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments